范翠丝(Susan Fentress)律師
资深美国法律顾问

  • B.S. Biochemistry and Psychology in University of Wisconsin (1980)
  • J.D. Staff Editor, Marquette Law Review in Marquette University Law School (1983)
  • 24 Graduate credits in Molecular Biology in University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee (1983)

范翠丝律師是美国威斯康星州、伊利诺斯州及田纳西州的执业律师。她同时也是美国注册专利代理人。她于1980年在威斯康星大学获得生物化学学士学位,并于1983年在马凯特大学获得法律职业博士学位。她的经历包括在纽曼威廉安德森奥尔森公司为特拉华区域法院涉及乙烯共聚专利侵权的DuPont v. Phillips Petroleum Corp案及E.I. DuPont de Nemours v. Phillips Petroleum Co.案担任辩护律师。之后,她曾任美国巴克斯特医药公司诊断部门的部门法律顾问,进行诉讼及申请工作。她代理的案子包括:加州北部管区联邦地区法院的Abbott Laboratories v. Baxter Healthcare Corp.案(Paramax化学分析器)、伊利诺斯州北部管区联邦地区法院的Baxter Health Care v. Abbott Labor案(Stratus免疫化学分析器)、以及德国慕尼黑的专利有效性案件Baxter Healthcare Corp. v. LKB Diagnostic。

范翠丝律师对大中华地区非常熟悉,并曾参加对中国内地和香港科技界的访问和交流。她还曾经进行过数次国际性的演讲,包括在中国南京举行的“进入美国市场的第一步—在美国投资和贸易的法律咨询讲座”、在中国上海举行的国际医药发现科技会议中的“进口到美国的产品的专利方面问题"、以及在香港科学园举行的“低成本高效益的美国专利诉讼途径”。

除了中国之外,范翠丝律师还对全世界不同国家的知识产权保护具有丰富的兴趣和经验,其中包括例如印度等的其它亚洲国家。她进行过的演讲包括:为印度生物医药专业年会全球联盟所做的“全球化发展生物医药产品的风险管理问题”、为总领事学院所做的 “驯服知识产权这头野兽:以印度和中国的眼光看待”、为美国知识产权法律协会所做的“在中国保护制药”、以及为美国化学学会的“化学与法律”论坛跨地区会议所做的“加拿大、美国和欧洲的化学发明专利保护之比较”。

范翠丝律师曾任百特健康护理公司诊断部门的法律顾问,撰写了大量协议。这些协议包括保密协议,受大学支持的研究协议,专利许可协议(以解决专利纠纷); 收购、资产剥离和合资企业中的知识产权部分协议的主要条款。作为HSHW的法律顾问,她撰写了许多生产和销售合同,包括符合FDA要求的的质量协议。同样的,她撰写了大量的医疗设备方面的专利、商标和商业秘密等知识产权许可协议。她在知识产权交易方面发表过文章及发言。最近的一些活动包括:2009年10月在专业许可人士年度会议上做题为“医疗设备交易的尽职调查”的发言; 在2008年秋季刊的《许可杂志》发表论文“通过合同和良好的商业运营模式在中国保护知识产权”,并在于2008年6月7日召开的全球印度生物医学专业联盟年度会议主讲题为“生物医药产品全球发展的风险管理问题”的讲座。

工作语言:英语

Ms. Susan Fentress

US Legal Advisor

  • B.S. Biochemistry and Psychology in University of Wisconsin (1980)
  • J.D. Staff Editor, Marquette Law Review in Marquette University Law School (1983)
  • 24 Graduate credits in Molecular Biology in University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee (1983)

Ms. Fentress is presently admitted as an Attorney in the states of Wisconsin , Illinois and Tennessee , U.S.A. She is also a registered patent attorney. She obtained a B.S. in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin (1980), and a J.D. from Marquette University in 1983. Her expertise includes patent litigation with the firm of Neuman, Williams, Anderson, Olson –as counsel in DuPont v. Phillips Petroleum Corp. E.I. DuPont de Nemours v. Phillips Petroleum Co. , Counsel, District of Delaware, patent infringement suit covering ethylene copolymers. Subsequently, she was Division Counsel for Baxter Health Care Diagnostic Division in charge of litigation and prosecution for this division. Representative cases include: Abbott Laboratories v. Baxter Healthcare Corp., District N.D. California (Paramax Chemical Analyzer); Baxter Health Care v. Abbott Labor, N.D. Illinois (Stratus Immunochemical Analyzer); Baxter Healthcare Corp. v. LKB Diagnostic (Patient Validity Action, Munich , Germany).

Ms. Fentress is familiar with Greater China, having visited and interacted with the technology community in Both China and Hong Kong. She has given several international speeches including: “First Step to America. A Legal Consulting Seminar for Investment and Trade in the US” in Nanjing, PRC; “Patent Related Issues for Products Imported into the United States” for the International Drug Discovery Science and Technology Conference in Shanghai, China and “Cost Efficient Patent Litigation in the US” at Hong Kong Science Park.

Besides China, Ms Fentress also has interest and experience in IP protection worldwide, including other Asian countries, such as India. She has given seminars on “Risk Management Issues with Global Development of Biomedical Products” for the Global Alliance of the Indian Biomedical Professional Annual Conference; “Taming the Intellectual Property Beast: Views from India and China” for the General Counsel Institute; “Protection of Pharmaceuticals” in China for AIPLA; and ” Comparison of Patent Protection for Chemical Inventions among Canada, US and Europe” for the American Chemical Society’s ‘Chemistry and the Law’ Symposium, Joint Regional Meeting.

Ms. Fentress was Division counsel for Baxter Health Care Diagnostics Division and prepared numerous agreements for Baxter. These agreements included; NDA, Supported Research Agreement with Universities, Patent License Agreements (to resolve patent disputes); term sheet for deals and IP portions of acquisition, divestiture and joint ventures agreements. As a legal counsel at HSHW, she has prepared manufacturing and distribution contracts, including FDA compliant quality agreements for medical devices. She has similarly, prepared numerous IP license agreements relating to patents, trademark and trade-secrets for medical devices. She has published and spoke on transactional issues. Some recent activities include: LES Annual Convention, Oct.2009 Due Diligence for Medical Device Transactions ; Published paper. Journal of Licensing Fall 2008 on “Protection of IP in China through Contracts and Good Business Practices” and Featured speaker, “Risk Management issues with Global Development of Biomedical Products, Global Alliance of Indian Biomedical Professional”, annual Conference June 7th 2008. Susan assists EIP in patent and trademark registration.

Her working language is English.